

Michelle Lujan Grisham Governor Howie Morales Lt Governor



State of New Mexico MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. STATE COMMISSION

STATE COMMISS 2 Suite 210 87108 -6467 5470 Leonard Waites Executive Director Beverly Gaines Event Coordinator

310 San Pedro Rd. NE Suite 210 Albuquerque, NM 87108 Phone: (505) 222-6467 Fax: (505) 222-6470 https://nmmlksc.org

April 26, 2023

GREETINGS!

The Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commission will host our annual **YOUTH LEADERSHIP CONFERENCE** on June 2-4, 2023, at the Courtyard by Marriott Las Cruces at NMSU 456 E. University Ave Las Cruces, NM 88005. Our theme for this year's conference is **"DREAM" Determined, Resilient, Eager, Ambitious, Mindset.**

This conference is designed for students ages 12-18 from across the state. There will be educational sessions, outdoor activities, STEM, talent showcase, and more. The focus is to educate, empower, and inspire our youth about the six steps of non-violence of Dr. King, his life, and his legacy, and tools to be an effective leader in their community.

This conference is free for all participants and volunteers. There is a registration, and permission slip required to attend this great event. Fill out the information and get it back to us either electronically or via mail. You can find the registration information on our website https://nmmlksc.org, or in our office. Registration is due FRIDAY, MAY 19, 2023. For youth who are staying at the hotel they must be accompanied by a chaperone for the weekend. If you need any assistance filling out our digital registration form, please contact Tatum Bradshaw via email at Tatum.bradshaw@mlkjrc.nm.gov.

We are looking forward to having your youth join us in this fun-filled event. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Leonard Waites <u>Leonard.waites@mlkjrc.nm.gov</u> or Beverly Gaines at (505) 533-5606 or email: <u>Bevieg52@gmail.com</u>.

Sincerely,

Leonard Waites

Leonard Waites *Executive Director*

Beverly Gaines

Beverly Gaines Event Coordinator

COMMISSIONERS Oscar Robinson, Chairman & Maggie Toulouse Oliver, Sec of State & Tim Eichenberg, State Treasurer & Joseph Maestas Rev Garland Moore & Ross Bettis & Kimberly Arrington-Woodley & Joseph Cotton & Dr. Bobbie Green Kalee Salazar & Clarence Smith Vice Chairman